HOLOPUNI VA’A : 2017

///HOLOPUNI VA’A : 2017

Polynesian outrigger canoe sailing becomes an elite sport

SAIL Tahiti was there !

Under a white-hot sun, 3 paddlers lost in the immensity of the Pacific Ocean.  At one with the swell and the wind, canoe powering along the swells, double outriggers and traditional sail.  The traditional Polynesia outrigger canoe, ancient method of sailing that populated the Pacific, has become an extreme endurance sport.

Men and women, elite paddlers and sailing champions, need to be ready to face difficult conditions racing over long distances.

The Hawaikinui Voyage Moorea to Huahine leg is over 150km and can take 10 hours to complete.  The head paddler is first in line to surf the swells, subject to the rhythm of the waves lifting the canoe, each surf a burst of energy.  The middle paddler is the engine, giving power and pace.  The helmsman behind is the tactician, trimming the sail and setting the direction according to the wind and currents, with a paddle strike on one side and then the other.

The Hawaikinui Voyage is a 5-day adventure from Tahiti to Bora Bora.  Each day the canoes compete in ocean legs or lagoon races, all against the backdrop of the immensity of the Pacific.  The Holopuni, extreme ocean sport …

For more info ….

See the Holopuni Va’a Facebook site

+ 689 87 32 88 45

[email protected]

2018-01-03T10:11:18+00:00

HOLOPUNI VA’A : 2017

///HOLOPUNI VA’A : 2017

L’art de la navigation polynésienne devenu sport d’élite

SAIL Tahiti was there !

Sous le soleil accablant, 3 rameurs perdus dans l’immensité du Pacifique. Ils composent avec la houle et le vent, assis ras de l’eau sur une pirogue à trois balanciers munis d’une voile traditionnelle. Les courses de Holopuni, qui font revivre l’art de la navigation des anciens Polynésiens sont un sport d’endurance extrême. Hommes ou femmes, rameurs d’élite ou champions de voile, les participants doivent affronter des conditions difficiles et parcourir des distances impressionnantes.

Lors du Hawaikinui Voyage, l’étape Moorea – Huahine fait plus de 150 km et dure parfois plus de 10 heures…Le rameur de tête est soumis au rythme infernal des vagues qui soulèvent la pirogue. Dans les surfs il est en première ligne…Le rameur du milieu, le « moteur » est celui qui donne la puissance et la cadence. Le barreur, régleur de voile et tacticien choisit le cap en fonction des vents et des courants, règle en permanence la trajectoire et donne le coup de rame nécessaire pour propulser la pirogue dans un surf ou un sprint.

Le Hawaikinui Voyage dure 5 jours entre Tahiti et Bora Bora. Chaque jour les pirogues s’affrontent en haute mer et dans les lagons lors d’étapes de plusieurs dizaines de kilomètres dans le décor grandiose du Pacifique. Le Holopuni c’est l’effort dans l’immensité…

Pour plus d’infos ….

Holopuni Va’a sur Facebook

+ 689 87 32 88 45

[email protected]

2018-01-03T10:08:34+00:00

Leave A Comment